Trio Cavatina wins 2009 Naumburg competition

Posted on: June 16, 2009

The winner of the 2009 Naumburg Chamber Music Competition is Trio Cavatina—violinist Harumi Rhodes, cellist Priscilla Lee, and pianist Ieva Jokubaviciute. The competition results were announced after finals that took place on June 11 at the Manhattan School of Music in New York City. The prize will include a recital at Weill Recital Hall at Carnegie Hall in 2010; a composition will also be written for them by Richard Danielpour. Trio Cavatina was one of four finalist chamber ensembles: the Manhattan Piano Trio, the Jasper String Quartet, and Puff Quintet. Each of four ensembles performed a 40-minute program for a jury comprising chamber musicians Robert Mann, Ursula Oppens, Carol Wincenc, Ronald Copes, Curtis Macomber, Anahid Ajemian, and Tom Sauer. The Naumburg Foundation’s annual competition rotates between instruments such as violin, viola, clarinet, cello, and piano, as well as categories in voice and chamber music. The June 2010 competition will be for piano.

Posted June 16, 2009