Koussevitzky Foundation’s 2009 commission winners

Posted on: July 31, 2009

The Serge Koussevitzky Music Foundation in the Library of Congress and the Koussevitzky Music Foundation, Inc. have awarded new-music commissions to seven composers for 2009. The awards, made jointly with the performing groups that will perform the works, go to Edmund Campion (San Francisco Contemporary Music Players), Yu-Hui Chang (Left Coast Chamber Ensemble), Chong Kee Yong (Momenta Quartet), Sofia Gubaidulina (Contempo, the Contempoary Chamber Players of the University of Chicago), Christopher Wendell Jones (sfSound), Eric Lindsay (Adorno Ensemble), and Bruno Mantovani (eighth blackbird). For the annual awards, performing groups must submit an application for a composer whose work they would like to jointly commission with the foundations, and the groups must perform the work within two years of its completion. The Koussevitzky Music Foundation of New York and the Serge Koussevitzky Music Foundation in the Library of Congress perpetuate lifelong efforts by Serge Koussevktzky (1874-1951) to encourage contemporary composers; prior commissioned works by Koussevitzky and his foundations include Bartók’s Concerto for Orchestra and Britten’s Peter Grimes.

Posted July 31, 2009

Photo of Serge Koussevitzky courtesy Library of Congress