NAMM’s next Music Monday event set for May 2010

Posted on: November 25, 2009

The National Association of Music Merchants (NAMM) has announced that it will join the Coalition for Music Education in Canada for its sixth annual Music Monday event on May 3, 2010. For the event, the two organizations are encouraging schools, afterschool programs, and individuals to participate by performing the designated Music Monday piece—Serena Ryder’s “Sing Sing”—or a song of their choice at exactly the same time on May 3. The collective performance will take place at 10 a.m. Pacific time, 11 a.m. Mountain time, 12 noon Central time, 1 p.m. Eastern time, 2 p.m. Atlantic time, and 2:30 p.m. Newfoundland time. The event’s stated goal is to “transcend all genres and unite people through the melody and the act of performing the same piece at the same time. The idea is that if one were to open the front door of his or her home and stand on the street on the first Monday in May, one would hear music and the skies would be filled with melody.” NAMM is a nonprofit association for the global musical-instrument and -products industry. For more information on Music Monday, visit www.musicmonday.ca or www.namm.org; call 800-767-6266; or send an email to musicmonday@namm.org.

Posted November 25, 2009