New University of Louisville ensemble spotlights Grawemeyer Award winners

Posted on: March 16, 2010

The University of Louisville in Kentucky announced that it has formed a new faculty chamber ensemble, the Grawemeyer Players, which will perform rarely heard contemporary works by winners of the university’s annual Grawemeyer Award for Music Composition. The group’s first performance took place on March 9 at Carnegie Hall and featured works by Grawemeyer Award winners György Kurtág (2006 winner), Sebastian Currier (2007), Witold Lutoslawski (1985), Peter Lieberson (2008), Brett Dean (2009), and York Höller (2010). Among the works on the program, which will be repeated on an April 14 concert at the Margaret Comstock Concert Hall on the University of Louisville campus, were “Grave” from Lutoslawski’s Metamorphoses (1981), Dean’s Three Caprichos after Goya (2003-04), and Höller’s Klangzeichen (2003). The Grawemeyer Award for Music Composition, which carries a $200,000 prize, was introduced in 1985 by philanthropist and University of Louisville alumnus H. Charles Grawemeyer.

Posted March 16, 2010