Tchaikovsky competition announces judges, composers for 2011 event

Posted on: November 17, 2010

The Fourteenth International Tchaikovsky Competition, set to take place from June 14 to July 2, 2011 in Moscow and St. Petersburg, Russia, has announced the lineup of judges for the four categories. Judges for the piano division will include Vladimir Ashkenazy, Yefim Bronfman, Barry Douglas, Nelson Freire, and Denis Matsuev; for violin, Andres Cardenes, Leonidas Kavakos, Ann-Sophie Mutter, Victor Tretiakov, and Nikolaj Znaider; for cello, Clive Gillinson, Ralph Kirshbaum, Antonio Meneses, and Krzysztof Penderecki; and for voice, Teresa Berganza, Ileana Cotrubas, Ferruccio Furlanetto, Raina Kabaivanska, and Renata Scotto. All instrumental semifinalists will perform a newly composed work by Rodion Shchedrin (piano), Krzysztof Penderecki (cello), or John Corigliano (violin). The competition first prize for each category is 20,000 euros. Winners will be presented in a series of concerts over three years, in collaborations with the artist-management agencies Moscow Philharmonic Society (Russia), Opus 3 Artists (U.S.), and Intermusica (U.K.). The deadline to enter the competition is December 15, extended from the originally announced December 1 deadline. More information is available at The Tchaikovsky competition takes place every four years.

Posted November 17, 2010