Minnesota Orchestra chooses 6 composers for 2012 Composer Institute

Posted on: July 19, 2011

The Minnesota Orchestra has announced that six emerging composers have been selected for its 2012 Composer Institute, from January 2 to 7, 2012. The six, chosen from a pool of 153 candidates, are Brian Ciach (Bloomington, Indiana), Michael R. Holloway (St. Paul, Minnesota), Adrian Knight (Brooklyn, New York), Hannah Lash (New York City), Andreia Pinto-Correia (Boston, Massachusetts), and Shen Yiwen (New York City). The composers will participate in rehearsals, seminars, and tutoring sessions in Minneapolis, and their works will be performed on a January 6 concert led by Music Director Osmo Vänskä. The Minnesota Composer Institute is an annual professional training program for emerging symphonic composers co-presented with the American Composers Forum; it was launched during the 1995-96 season and is directed by Aaron Jay Kernis. This year’s jury selection panel, headed by Kernis, included composers Martin Bresnick, Tania Leon, Steven Stucky, and Michael Gatonska.

Posted July 19, 2011