Winning composers announced for Copland, Koussevitzky, and Mizzou organizations

Posted on: January 13, 2012

Composers have been selected to participate in separate programs run by three organizations: the Copland House, Koussevitzky Foundation, and Mizzou New Music Summer Festival. The ten composers selected for Copland House residencies at Aaron Copland’s National Historic Landmark house in New York State are David Gompper, Joel Hoffman, Robert Honstein, Greg Kallor, Daniel Kellogg, Angel Lam, Reinaldo Moya, Nathan Shields, Marcus Karl Maroney, and Robert Xavier Rodriguez. Each of the ten composers will live and work at Copland House for three- to eight-week stays. The Serge Koussevitzky Music Foundation has awarded commissions for new works to eight composers; awards are given jointly by the foundation and the performing organizations that will present the works. Award winners are John Aylward (Washington Square Contemporary Music Society); Anthony Cheung (Talea Ensemble); Jason Eckhardt (NOVA Chamber Music Series); Agustín Fernández (Momenta Quartet); Jennifer Higdon (Cypress String Quartet); Laura Kaminsky (St. Petersburg Chamber Philharmonic, Russia); Harold Meltzer (San Francisco Chamber Orchestra); and Benoît Mernier (Pro Arte Quartet). The Mizzou New Music Summer Festival has announced eight resident composers for this year’s festival, July 28 to July 28 at the University of Missouri (Columbia, Mo.): Stephanie Berg, Brian Ciach, David Crowell, Stylianos Dimou, Ted Goldman, Patrick Harlin, Charlie Piper, and Asha Srinivasan. Each of the eight Mizzou composers will receive instruction from guest composers Steven Stucky and Donnacha Dennehy; have their works performed by new-music ensemble Alarm Will Sound; and receive a live professional recording of their work created for the festival. 

Posted January 13, 2012