Beilman and Tao win 2012 Avery Fisher Career Grants

Posted on: May 30, 2012

Violinist Benjamin Beilman and pianist Conrad Tao have been named winners of the 2012 Avery Fisher Career Grants. The two winners will each receive $25,000 to go toward career development. Beilman and Tao received their awards on May 22 during a ceremony at Lincoln Center’s Stanley H. Kaplan Penthouse, where Nathan Leventhal, the Avery Fisher Artist Program’s chairman, announced the awards along with Charles Avery Fisher and Nancy Fisher, children of the late Avery and Janet Fisher. Beilman and Tao performed during the May 22 ceremony, and those performances were recorded for broadcast on WQXR to be aired on May 30 at 9 p.m. ET. Avery Fisher Career Grants of the Avery Fisher Artist Program, given annually since 1976, are designed to give professional assistance and recognition to talented instrumentalists and chamber ensembles believed to have great potential for major careers. Previous winners include violinists Augustin Hadelich and Hilary Hahn, pianist Kirill Gerstein, and the Miró Quartet.

Posted May 30, 2012