Mizzou Festival announces 2013 resident composers

Posted on: January 3, 2013

The 2013 Mizzou International Composers Festival has announced the eight composers who will be in residence at this summer’s events, from July 22 to 27 at the University of Missouri in Columbia. They are Jason Thorpe Buchanan, Ryan Chase, Andrew Davis, Eric Guinivan, Elizabeth Kelly, Wei-Chieh Lin, Greg Simon, and David Witter. During their residency, the eight will receive composition lessons from Augusta Read Thomas and Daniel Kellogg, and one of each of their works will receive a world premiere and be professionally recorded by the ensemble Alarm Will Sound, also in residence at the festival. In addition to public concerts, the festival includes workshops, master classes, and other events. The festival is part of the Mizzou New Music Initiative, created in 2009; the initiative resulted from a $1 million donation by the Sinquefield Charitable Foundation and includes an array of programs designed to position the University of Missouri as a center for music composition and new music. For more information, visit http://composersfestival.missouri.edu/.

Posted January 3, 2013