Artistic: Dallas Symphony

Posted on: June 11, 2013

Two musician appointments have been announced by the Dallas Symphony Orchestra: DEMARRE McGILL, principal flute, and DAVID COOPER, principal horn.

Demarre McGill, named to the DSO’s Joy and Ronald Mankoff Chair, will succeed JEAN LARSON GARVER, who has served as principal flute for 42 years and will retire in July 2013. McGill goes to Dallas from the Seattle Symphony, where he has held the principal flute post for the past two seasons. Prior to Seattle he held principal flute posts at the San Diego Symphony, the Florida Orchestra, and the Santa Fe Opera Orchestra. He has performed with numerous prominent orchestras as a concerto soloist and is a member of the Florida-based Ritz Chamber Players. Recipient of an Avery Fisher Career Grant in 2003, McGill is a native of Chicago with a bachelor’s degree from the Curtis Institute of Music and a master’s from The Juilliard School.

David Cooper, who assumes the Howard E. Rachofsky Chair as principal horn, has performed in the DSO’s French horn section since 2011. He succeeds GREGORY HUSTIS, who served as principal horn from 1976 to 2012 and remains with the orchestra as principal horn emeritus. Cooper most recently served in acting and associate principal horn positions with Fort Worth Symphony Orchestra, the Victoria (B.C.) Symphony Orchestra, and the Saint Paul Chamber Orchestra. He has performed as guest principal horn with the London Symphony Orchestra and the Hong Kong Philharmonic, and as guest associate principal horn with the Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra. A native of Michigan, he studied at the Curtis Institute of Music and at Tanglewood Music Center. This summer he will be in residence for his third season at Marlboro Music in Vermont.   

Posted June 11, 2013