Ma, Gittleman, and Alsop to receive honors this spring

Posted on: May 19, 2014

Cellist Yo-Yo Ma and conductors Neal Gittleman and Marin Alsop are among musicians being honored this spring. On May 23, Yo-Yo Ma will be the inaugural recipient of the Fred Rogers Legacy Award, recognizing individuals who have advanced the legacy of Fred Rogers, host of the long-running TV program Misters Rogers’ Neighborhood. Ma will receive his award at Saint Vincent College in Latrobe, Pennsylvania, site of the Fred Rogers Center for Early Learning and Children’s Media.  On May 21, Dayton Philharmonic Artistic Director Neal Gittleman will receive the 2014 Governor’s Award for the Arts in Ohio, to be presented at a luncheon ceremony honoring winners and members of the Ohio Legislature. Gittleman, celebrating 20 years with the Dayton Philharmonic, will receive an award for community development and participation. On June 6, Baltimore Symphony Orchestra Music Director Marin Alsop will be presented with the American Composers Forum’s “Champion of New Music” award, honoring individuals or ensembles who have contributed to the work of contemporary composers. The two other 2014 winners of the “Champion of New Music” award—receiving their honors in separate ceremonies this spring—are percussionist and La Jolla Symphony and Chorus Music Director Steven Schick and Frances Richard, retired ASCAP vice president of concert music.

Posted May 19, 2014