Artistic: National Symphony

Posted on: September 16, 2014

Four additions to the musician roster were recently announced by the National Symphony Orchestra in Washington, D.C.: ABEL PEREIRA, principal horn; WILLIAM GERLACH, principal trumpet; LEAH ARSENAULT, assistant principal flute; and DAVID MURRAY, section trombone.

Abel Pereira most recently served as guest principal horn in the Berlin Philharmonic. Before that he spent two years (2010-12) as acting principal horn of the London Philharmonic. Since winning the European Master Prize in 1998 Pereira has appeared internationally as a soloist, teacher, and clinician.

William Gerlach began trumpet during sixth grade in his native Wisconsin, earned a bachelor’s degree in music at Indiana University, and pursued further training at Aspen Music Festival and School and in master’s degree programs at Northwestern University and Rice University.

Leah Arsenault was most recently acting associate principal flute with the Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra. She has also served as principal flute of Colorado’s Crested Butte Music Festival Orchestra and second flute in the Louisville Orchestra. Arsenault received her training at the Colburn School in Los Angeles and the University of Cincinnati College-Conservatory of Music.

Trombonist David Murray held one-year contracts with the NSO during the 2012-13 and 2013-14 seasons. He had previously been active as a freelancer, playing in such organizations as the Philadelphia Orchestra; the San Diego and Baltimore symphony orchestras; the Chautauqua, Spoleto USA, and Schleswig-Holstein festival orchestras; and the Malaysian Philharmonic.

Posted September 16, 2014