Tchaikovsky Competition names winners in piano, cello, violin, and voice

Posted on: July 2, 2015

“The International Tchaikovsky Competition on Wednesday announced its top prizes,” reads an unsigned article on Wednesday (7/1) at New York classical radio station WQXR. “They are: Russian soprano Yulia Matochkina (voice, female); Mongolian baritone Ariunbaatar Ganbaatar (voice, male); Romanian cellist Andrei Ioniță (cello); and Russian pianist Dmitry Masleev (piano). No gold medal was awarded for violin; Taiwanese violinist Yu-Chien Tseng took the second prize…. The winner of each category takes home $30,000 … Competition officials said that, thanks to the Internet, a record-breaking 10 million viewers from 179 countries watched the competition…. The jury for violin included Yuri Bashmet, Maxim Vengerov, Leonidas Kavakos, Vadim Repin, Michael Haefliger and Nikolaj Znaider, among others. Cellist jurors included David Geringas and Jan Vogler, and among the piano jurors were Dmitri Bashkirov and Denis Matsuev…. This year, the competition has published the scorecards of the jurors and enacted other measures to promote greater transparency. The Tchaikovsky was first launched in 1958 and now takes place every four years. It has helped launch the careers of pianists including Van Cliburn and Vladimir Ashkenazy and violinists such as Gidon Kremer and Victoria Mullova.” Two gala concerts will be webcast on Thursday, July 2, at 12 pm ET on Medici.TV.

Posted July 2, 2015