Sixteen composers, three orchestras in 2016 Jazz Composers Orchestra Institute

Posted on: March 4, 2016

“Between May and September 2016, three different orchestras will give public readings of new works for symphony orchestra written by a total of sixteen jazz composers” as part of the third Jazz Composers Orchestra Institute, reads an unsigned Wednesday (3/2) article at NewMusicBox. “In addition to the reading sessions, the activities at … the Naples Philharmonic (May 25 and 26), American Composers Orchestra (June 15 and 16), and the Buffalo Philharmonic Orchestra (September 20 and 21) … will involve a variety of workshops and other opportunities for the participating composers.” Participating composers are Amina Figarova, Jonathan Finlayson, Brian Friedland, Ethan Helm, Robin Holcomb, Sonia Jacobsen, Yvette Jackson, Gene Knific, Joan La Barbara, Guy Mintus, Ben Morris, Dawn Norfleet, Hitomi Oba, Nathan Parker Smith, Emilio Sola, and Anthony Tidd. The institute is presented by American Composers Orchestra in cooperation with the UCLA Herb Alpert School of Music and Center for Jazz Studies at Columbia University, and EarShot, the National Orchestra Composition Discovery Network. EarShot is coordinated by American Composers Orchestra in collaboration with American Composers Forum, the League of American Orchestras, and New Music USA.

Posted March 4, 2016