Louisville Orchestra’s Teddy Abrams among winners of inaugural Awards in the Arts

Posted on: April 8, 2016

“The list of winners for Louisville’s inaugural Awards in the Arts include[s] Louisville Orchestra music director Teddy Abrams … for [his] impact on Louisville’s arts and culture,” writes Elizabeth Kramer in Wednesday’s (4/6) Courier-Journal (Louisville). “The inaugural awards, administered by Fund for the Arts, the Jennifer Lawrence Foundation and Churchill Downs, will be given out at a ceremony at Churchill Downs on April 30. On that evening, the recipient of a National Award in the Arts will be announced in recognition for outstanding achievement in Louisville and on a national scale…. Teddy Abrams receives the Bittners Arts Innovation Award for his innovative work in the arts that has included his work with the Louisville Orchestra and other musicians and collaborating with the Louisville Ballet and Speed Art Museum. On Independence Day last year, he led the orchestra in a city-wide concert at Waterfront Park and has led the ensemble in producing the soundtrack for this year’s Thunder Over Louisville event.” Other winners include musician and educator Jecorey ‘1200’ Arthur, artist Ed Hamilton, the Kentucky Center for the Arts (home to the Kentucky Opera, Louisville Ballet, and Louisville Orchestra), and StageOne Family Theatre.

Posted April 8, 2016