League names five musicians to receive Ford Musician Awards for Excellence in Community Service

Posted on: April 21, 2016

The League of American Orchestras has selected five orchestra musicians to receive the Ford Musician Awards for Excellence in Community Service. A new program made possible by Ford Motor Company Fund, the awards celebrate orchestra musicians and the essential work they do in their communities. The award recipients and their orchestras are: Penny Anderson Brill, viola, Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra’s Music and Wellness Program; Shannon Orme, bass clarinet, Detroit Symphony Orchestra’s Neighborhood Residency Initiative; Jeffrey Paul, Principal Oboe, South Dakota Symphony Orchestra’s Lakota Music Project; Brian Prechtl, percussion, Baltimore Symphony Orchestra’s OrchKids; Beth Vandervennet, cello, Oakland Symphony’s Music for Excellence Program (MUSE). The five orchestra musicians were selected by a panel of industry professionals through a competitive nomination process. The awards include a $2,500 grant to each musician, as well as an additional $2,500 grant to their home orchestra to support professional development focused on community service and engagement for its musicians. The awardees and their orchestras will receive their awards at the League’s National Conference in Baltimore, June 9-11, 2016. The musicians will also participate in a Conference presentation and separate webinar, providing the orchestra field opportunities to learn from their experience. Find more information here.

Posted April 21, 2016