American Academy of Arts and Letters awards to 16 composers

Posted on: March 13, 2017

Sixteen composers have won the American Academy of Arts and Letters’ music awards for 2017, totaling $195,000. They are Lisa Bielawa, Yu-Hui Chang, Jan Krzywicki, Andrew Norman, Jake Landau, Eric Guinivan, Ryan Chase, Saad Haddad, Katherine Balch, William Healy, Andrew Hsu, Sky Macklay, Sid Richardson, Hilary Purrington, Carl Schimmel, and Dalit Warshaw. The winners—selected by Yehudi Wyner, Samuel Adler, Martin Boykan, Sebastian Currier, Stephen Jaffe, Aaron Jay Kernis, Tobias Picker, and Ellen Taaffe Zwilich—will receive their awards at the Academy’s annual Ceremonial in May. Candidates for music awards are nominated by the 250 members of the Academy.

Posted March 13, 2017