Minnesota Orchestra names seven composers for Nov. 2017 Institute

Posted on: May 5, 2017

Seven composers have been chosen for the Minnesota Orchestra’s Composer Institute from November 6 to 10, 2017. They are Saad Haddad, of Los Angeles, California; Andrew Hsu, of Fremont, California; Charles Peck, of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania; Hilary Purrington, of New Haven, Connecticut; Daniel Schlosberg, of Brooklyn, New York; Peter S. Shin, of Kansas City, Missouri; and Nina C. Young, of New York, New York. The seven will travel to Minneapolis, where they will work with program director Kevin Puts in rehearsals, seminars, and mentoring sessions. There will be a public “Future Classics” performance of their works on November 10, with Music Director Osmo Vänskä conducting the Minnesota Orchestra at Orchestra Hall in downtown Minneapolis. The institute, in its fifteenth year, is co-presented with the American Composers Forum.

Posted May 5, 2017