Ten Music Academy of the West musicians chosen for New York Philharmonic’s Fellowship program in NYC

Posted on: August 14, 2017

The New York Philharmonic has announced that ten instrumentalists from the Music Academy of the West will travel to New York in January 2018 to participate in the orchestra’s Global Academy Fellowship Program. The ten musicians, known as Zarin Mehta Fellows, are Choi Tung Yeung, violin; Gi Yeon Yoon, violin; Yuan Qi, viola; Jenny Kwak, cello; Michael Marks, double bass; Hannah Hammel, flute; William Welter, oboe; Ryan Toher, clarinet; Nathaniel Silberschlag, horn; and Michael Cox, trombone. They will spend ten days in New York training and playing alongside Philharmonic musicians, conducted by Stéphane Denève, in selections from Prokofiev’s Romeo and Juliet for the Philharmonic’s subscription concerts January 25 to 27. Since the New York Philharmonic’s Global Academy Fellowship Program began in 2015, several alumni of the program have been appointed to positions in organizations including the Houston Grand Opera, Chicago Symphony Orchestra, San Francisco Opera Orchestra, Knoxville Symphony Orchestra, Hawaii Symphony Orchestra, Rochester Philharmonic Orchestra, Los Angeles Philharmonic, Detroit Symphony Orchestra, New World Symphony, and Canada’s National Arts Centre Orchestra.

Posted August 14, 2017