Delaware Symphony to honor composer Robert Paterson at start of 2018-19 season

Posted on: September 25, 2018

On September 28, the Delaware Symphony Orchestra will present composer Robert Paterson with the orchestra’s 2018-19 A.I. du Pont Composer’s Award during its opening concert at Wilmington’s Grand Opera House. The annual award recognizes a distinguished living American composer or conductor who has made a significant contribution to contemporary classical music. Past winners include Morton Gould, John Adams, Robert Ward, Philip Glass, George Crumb, Libby Larsen, Jennifer Higdon, Kevin Puts, Aaron Jay Kernis, Christopher Theofanidis, and André Previn. David Ludwig was the 2017-18 recipient. In announcing the award, Music Director David Amado said, “It is an honor and pleasure to welcome Robert Paterson to Delaware to accept the A.I. duPont Composer’s Award. His refined and sophisticated musical sensibilities, and his energetic and articulate advocacy for new music make him a wonderfully worthy recipient.” Amado will be joined by Paterson for a pre-concert talk on Sept. 28 and before the orchestra’s September 30 concert at Cape Henlopen High School Theatre in Lewes, Delaware. The opening concerts will feature Paterson’s 2011 composition Dark Mountains on an American program that also includes music by Leonard Bernstein, Aaron Copland, and Samuel Barber.

Posted September 25, 2018