Kentucky’s Lexington Philharmonic 2019-20: music director candidates, women composers

Posted on: May 7, 2019

During the 2019-20 season, six music director finalists—three men and three women—will conduct Kentucky’s Lexington Philharmonic from September to May. They are Thomas Heuser, Akiko Fujimoto, Kelly Corcoran, Enrico Lopez-Yañez, Julia Tai, and Keitaro Harada. During the season the orchestra will perform six programs featuring standard repertoire and a work by a female composer, with works to include Julia Perry’s A Short Piece for Orchestra, Libby Larsen’s Deep Summer Music, Jessie Montgomery’s Caught by the Wind, Jennifer Higdon’s blue cathedral, Missy Mazzoli’s River Rouge Transfiguration, and Loren Loiacono’s Smothered By Sky. The first of two additional programs will be the orchestra’s annual “A Cathedral Christmas” program in December, featuring the orchestra and the Lexington Singers at the Cathedral of Christ the King in sacred orchestral and choral works. Trumpeter and conductor Byron Stripling will lead a Mardi Gras-themed program in February at the Lexington Opera House. Allison Kaiser is executive director of the Lexington Philharmonic. Music Director Scott Terrell will step down at the end of this season, as previously announced.

Posted May 7, 2019