New York Youth Symphony commissions seven premieres for 2020-21

Posted on: January 29, 2020

The New York Youth Symphony will premiere seven commissioned works in 2020-21, through its First Music program by composers age 30 or under, who will write for the NYYS Orchestra, NYYS Chamber Music program, and NYYS Jazz. The seven are Jonathan Cziner, Anteo Fabris, Benjamin Morris, Liza Sobel, Ari Sussman, Matthew Waterman, and Drew Zaremba. Cziner, Sobel, and Sussman’s works will be performed by the NYYS Orchestra at Carnegie Hall, led by Music Director Michael Repper, and at Interlochen Center for the Arts, which is co-commissioning those three works. Fabris received the chamber music commission; his work will be premiered by the NYYS Chamber Music program, led by Director Lisa Tipton, at Carnegie Hall’s Weill Recital Hall. Morris, Waterman, and Zaremba will write new works to be premiered by NYYS Jazz under Director Andy Clausen at Dizzy’s Club, Jazz at Lincoln Center, and another jazz venue to be announced. Commission winners are selected through a blind application process. The orchestra and chamber music jury was chaired by Christopher Theofanidis and included Juri Seo, Patrick Harlin, Courtney Orlando, Eric Stomberg, and Michael Repper. The jazz jury was chaired by Arturo O’Farrill and included Emilio Solla, Michele Rosewoman, Eric Stomberg, and Andy Clausen.